Jessa-Nomics

I had a “light bulb” moment last night, while sitting with my right foot up. I should have called this blog “Jessa-Nomics.” That’s what I practice. My frugal tendencies, my clumsiness, my lack of notice, planning or preparedness is something you too could learn! Last night was a prime example. Let me start by saying that Monday night Bug requested a baked good to carry to school for this morning. They are having a little “end of the year” party in her home room. Okay, no problem. Plenty of time. I promptly forget, after Pally told me she needed either cookies or chips for her classes pizza party on Thursday. Okay, maybe forget is the wrong word, I pushed Bug’s party to Thursday in my head. No such luck. So last night, at 7:45, I realized that I needed to make glazed donut muffins. (Yes, yes, I’ll include a recipe.) No problem, right? Wrong. Not enough baking powder. So I sniveled and whined for a minute or two, helped Hubby bleed the brakes on one of the trucks (it involves following directions to pump the brakes or hold the brake pedal down), I grabbed my purse to run to the local little market. I happened to glance at the clock on the microwave. 8:00 p.m. exactly! Uh oh! Our little neighborhood market closes at 8. Duh! So Bug ran next door and borrowed some. Whew. On with the show. I got the batter made, the muffins into 3 of the pans and those pans in the oven. While filling the last pan, the 1 cup glass measuring cup jumped off the counter and landed on my foot, right at the joint of the foot & toes 3 and  4. It swelled & bruised immediately, but thankfully not painful this morning. Unfortunately while hopping around and yelling “owowowowowowowowowowow” my muffins were burning. (I should have checked them before the timer went off.) I’m pulling pans out the oven, with my welding gloves on, and what do I do? I brush my forearm against the oven, just above where the gloves end. Normal war wound, that. I pried the burnt muffins out of their tin, and thankfully the tops were fine. So I tucked them all in nicely under a towel on the cooling rack and went to bed. This morning, I cut the tops off the burnt ones, thankfully it was only half of the muffins that fared badly, glazed them, packaged them up, and went about my merry business. I realized at 7:00 I hadn’t made lunches yet. The bus runs between 7:15 and 7:30! I gave up. I gave them lunch money.

Oh, I wanted to give you all a project update. I will be finished sewing and have my kitchen curtains hung by bedtime tonight, so hopefully there will be photos tomorrow.

As for the Glazed Donut Muffins, I have my WordPress neighbor Sweet Pea from over at Sweet Pea’s Kitchen to thank for it.

For the Muffins:

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup milk

For the Glaze:

  • 3 tablespoons butter; melted
  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar; sifted
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 tablespoons hot water

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees F. Line 12 muffin cups with muffin liners or spray with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat together butter, vegetable oil, and sugars till smooth. Beat in eggs, one at a time. With the mixer on low-speed, baking powder, baking soda, nutmeg, cinnamon, salt and vanilla until just combined. Stir the flour into the butter mixture alternately with the milk, beginning and ending with the flour and making sure everything is thoroughly combined.
  3. Spoon batter into cups, filling the cups, and smooth tops. Divide batter equally among prepared muffin cups. Bake until muffin tops are a pale golden and springy to the touch, 15 to 17 minutes, rotating halfway through baking time. Cool muffins in muffin tin for 5 minutes, then transfer to wire rack and cool 10 minutes before glazing.
  4. To make the glaze, In a medium bowl mix together the melted butter, confectioners’ sugar, vanilla and water. Whisk until smooth.
  5. When muffins have cooled slightly, dip the muffin crown into the glaze and allow the glaze to harden. Once hardened, dip a second time  and allow to harden then serve.

Yields: 12 muffins

 

Leave a Reply

