What to do, what to do?

So, I have two kids.  They are now in the 5th grade and the 7th grade.  That means the Hubby and I have to make some serious decisions about how we are going to handle high school for our girls.  They both started out in church school (okay, Ally went to public preschool first) but have been in the public school system for the last 4 years, with great results.  However, we have considered for quite some time sending them back to church school for the last two years of high school.  We’ve spent a lot of time in conversation about this, and the more we talk about it the more we think they need to experience the same school for all 4 years of high school.  We both want them to attend a school in our denomination.  That leaves us with some hard choices.  The only academies (which is what our denomination calls our church high schools) in our state are up near Chicago, and as far as I can tell they are day schools.  Let me just state, flatly, that I don’t EVER plan on living in or around the greater Chicago area.  I’d rather shave my head bald, and then run naked through the concertina wire at the local prison!  So, what do we do?  We either have to move (so not what I want to do) or we have to send them to boarding school.  Both are very scary prospects to me.  First of all, boarding school, really?  I’m going to send my babies away?  And pay DOUBLE what a day school would be.  Second, my hubby’s job is going very well, I don’t feel like it’s smart to leave that at this point.  But to put the kids through school, I’m going to have to come out of “retirement.”  I just don’t want to go back to being a peon.  So, I (we) are having to re-evaluate what to do with MY life.  Do I go back to college?  Do I get a degree, a “diploma” or do a certificate program?  If I go back to college, how do we afford that?  Yikes!  I’ve got so much to think about, and soon I’ll have to make some decisions.  The Hubby just said last night I should write my book.  Um, yeah, so not that easy.  At this point, I don’t have any book ideas, nothing that I feel like I could expand enough to fill a whole book.  I wish I felt it was that easy, just set my mind to writing a book and getting down on paper, then magically getting it published.  So, that brings me back to my original question, what to do, what to do?

Leave a Reply

