Procrastination Station

Hey y’all! We’re all still alive here. Okay, that’s not entirely correct. We’ve lost our last fish, but the 2 legged creatures are still moving along and Rory-boy (our fur baby) is doing just fine. We are pretty much in a state of status quo. Kids are going to school, the Hubby is going to work (it feels like too many hours and days to me sometimes), and I live in an ever revolving state of walking the dog, cooking, cleaning, washing laundry, driving kids to school, etc. There is one new development. I have started training for a job, which, praise the Lord, is a work-from-home position. I’ll keep you posted on that front.

Now, I mentioned my revolving world of housework, but lately it’s more like doing anything BUT the housework until it absolutely needs to be done. It’s a state I like to refer to as “Procrastination Station.” I know it needs to be done, I have the tools to take care of it, but I just don’t want to get started. If I took that first step, it’d be fine. Right now, for instance, my kitchen needs to be cleaned. Bleech! Who wants to do that? Not me. But I have to. I have to, because who wants to cook in a dirty kitchen? Not this girl. It makes it much more complicated. I also need to make some soap. Yes, I said I need to make soap. Our house is full of folks who have skin issues. So, I’m going to make hand soap and some body wash for the Hubby.  I let you know how it turns out, and I’ll share the links and recipes once I’ve got results.  I’ll be making tea tree oil soap for the Hubby, and sweet orange scented hand soap.

I made “homemade” dishwasher detergent a couple of weeks ago, but I am NOT going to share that recipe because it was a disaster! The dishes had a powdery film on them. I may continue to play with those recipes and once I hit the magic formula I’ll share.

The Hubby and I were talking the other day, about how we are becoming “crunchy”. We aren’t turning into “dirty hippies,” I promise. It is just seems that I stumble across recipes for greener/homemade/more healthful (for us) products, and they work better for us than the ones filled with stuff I can’t pronounce. We’ve also been making our own bread for the last month or so.  I was grossed out when I learned what the cellulose was in our bread products. It’s made from wood pulp or cotton, usually. Would you walk out into the yard and peel a piece of bark off a tree and eat it? Or pick up a handful of wood chips for a snack?  I’m just not sure I want my kids eating that every day.  If we make bread, I know what’s in it….we usually make oatmeal bread, so it has oatmeal, flour, yeast, salt, water, sugar and oil (very little of the last two).  Do we still eat crap, on occasion?  Yep, we sure do.  I still buy take and bake pizzas every once in a while, and I buy a bag of pretzels for lunches every grocery day.  Have I gone totally health conscious crazy? Not a chance.  It’s not for everyone, and I would never say you have to do things my way, but this is what is working for us, and as long as it keeps working this is what we are going to do.

But for now, I’m going to try to post more often, from my Procrastination Station!  I know I keep saying that, and I have the best of intentions.

 

Leave a Reply

