Onward toward Thanksgiving

Good Morning! How’s everyone’s Halloween Hangover? Too much candy? Too few trick-or-treaters? We had too few here. I sent half of the leftovers to work with the hubby this morning. He can hop up his co-workers on sugar, so long as it’s not here. The kids found 6 whole houses in our neighborhood that were giving out candy. I don’t get it. I look forward to handing out candy. I look forward to seeing all the little cuties in their costumes. I was kind of disappointed. Well, another Halloween down….On the up side, Bug already knows what she wants to be for Halloween next year. That is a step in the right direction. She wants to be Abby Sciuto from NCIS. The Hubby is not sure how he feels about that. He’s afraid she’ll enjoy the attention she gets too much and will want to dress like that all the time. I told him that was unlikely. You didn’t worry about her deciding she enjoyed dressing like a pirate so much that she’d wear the clothes all the time. Although, she did ask if she could keep wearing the beads in her hair, but then again, Pally who was Pebbles Flintstone also asked if she could wear her big bone barrette again today. Yikes.  It was a weird day yesterday. The girls had a half day of school, due to a school improvement day (I assume it’s like teacher in-service like when WE were kids.) There was an all school dance yesterday, during the school day, so they put on their costumes to go to school. Then after school they carved their medium-sized white pumpkins (it’s what happens when you wait until October 30 to try to buy your carving pumpkins), then it was time to trick-or-treat. It was a nice day. The Hubby got home from work a little earlier than normal. We had dinner at the table, with the t.v. off (oh, so back to our normal routine), Grampy called from his brush fire to ask if the girls got a lot of candy, then we called Grammy (who was in the house) to sing Happy Birthday to her. Then, joy of joys, we had to have a relatively uncomfortable conversation with the girls. Bug used a phrase that I was never expecting to come out of her mouth. No, it wasn’t swear words, but it involved something I didn’t expect them to know anything about. After talking to her, we found out they had no idea what the phrase really meant, they’d substituted their own meaning, and it was a funny one, but we had to explain, if you are going to use words or phrases,  you’d better know what they mean, and WHY YOU DON’T SAY certain things. Let’s just put it this way, it is NOT okay to call the boys in your school Battery Operated Robots (that’s what they thought the phrase meant anyway). *sigh* Heaven help me! Every time they learn something that they shouldn’t know yet at school, I think, yep, time for home school. I know that I cannot protect them for ever, but holy smokes, neither of them is 13 yet, so I want them to stay as young as they can.

Today, I’m going to hang out with my new friend in the neighborhood. We are going to go out, have lunch and see where the day takes us, as long as we are home before the bus runs.  I’m so excited. You don’t realize how much you need grown-up time, until you actually start hanging out with someone you have common ground with. I didn’t realize how much I needed to spend time with another adult…other than the Hubby. I have learned (well before now) that he cannot be my “end all be all.” He cannot supply all my emotional needs. That was a hard thing to realize. Thankfully, I realized it years ago. That does not mean Hubby isn’t my best friend, it just means I can’t rely on him to keep me entertained, to be my sounding board for every little thing, to get me out of the house enough that I don’t feel isolated. The Hubby can’t be my best girlfriend, ’cause, well, he’s not a girl. All you stay-at-home-moms out there, don’t forget to spend time away from home, away from your family, to nurture your self, so that you are happy, healthy, whole and you can then be your best mom and wife.

In addition to going out today, tomorrow we are looking at a house. Scary. It’s a complicated situation, where we will be renting the first year, after the owners move for a job relocation, and then will have the option to buy if they stay with the job move. Hopefully we’ll be moving the first of the year.

In the meantime, we’ll continue to move on toward Thanksgiving. I can’t wait. I want to see my family so bad. I miss them. We’ll also be starting the Christmas preparation. Oh boy! But I won’t lose my focus on Thanksgiving, until it’s come and gone. One holiday at a time, please!!!!! Don’t rush us! Time moves so fast as it is.

Okay, I’ve got lots more to say today, but the dog keeps putting his head on the arm of my chair and giving me the eye. I think he’s trying to tell me telepathically, “Hey! I gotta pee! Let’s go. I also wanna try to catch another mole….” So, I have to run. Have a great day! And I’ll be post again soon.

Leave a Reply

