Stop the Insanity!

Okay, so I haven’t buzzed my hair close to my head, bleached it platinum, and become a fitness fanatic. (What? You don’t remember Susan Powter?) Anywho…Do you ever feel like you are just teetering on the edge? That something is about to happen? Something major? That there’s a “carrot” dangling in front of your face and something is going to happen and it’s just going to disappear? Yep, that’s where I am. I spent Rory’s dog walk feeling like I was going to burst into tears. Why? Who the heck knows. I don’t know if it’s just everything going on, the Holidays coming, the possibility of the new house, or something totally different. Could it just be a wonky brain chemistry week? Hormones? (Okay, maybe, but I’ve totally lost track of that one!) I’ve recently heard this statistic:  women cry on average between 30 and 64 times a year, men cry just six to 17 times during the same period. This statistical information comes from German Society of Ophthalmology. Now ladies, how many time does your man cry a year? At my house? It certainly doesn’t happen nearly that frequently. Of course I don’t cry nearly as much as they report for women either. I’m more in line with the statistics for the men. Even with getting teary watching those dang commercials. You know which ones I mean. I am actually having a week where I WISH I COULD JUST BAWL, and then move on. Sheesh. Maybe I need to get out a hammer and just smash my finger so I can just have a good cry…no, wait, it should be a toe so I can still knit. How about weepy movie suggestions? Shoot, maybe I’ll just look up a bunch of the sniffle inducing commercials on Youtube or something. The last movie I remember just blubbering at? Titanic. Yes, I knew going into the darn theater how it ended. Before that…Schindler’s List. I don’t think I can subject myself to Schindler’s List, ever again. Than darn pink coat just smashes my heart into a billion pieces. I also don’t think I could ever watch Atonement again. I know the ending. I think that might steal a little of the sadness. Maybe. I remember crying AND being ticked off.

Back to the original tangent….maybe it’s my normal thing, I’m just too “inside my own head.” I need to find something that distracts me from over thinking EVERYTHING. Although, I do feel better just having written this little bit. Though I was focusing directly on the issues, it actually pulled my focus off the internal dialogue. More effective than I expected. Whew.

One response to “Stop the Insanity!

  1. Well, for me I think in the last 5 years I have never cried as much in my life as i do now. It might be my hormones, not sure lol. I do know that my husband is below that mark, he may cry once a year! It kind of bothers me, dont know why, but it really does. As for a good movie to watch, The Notebook is sure to get you crying your eyes out. One more thing, dont forget, YOUR NORMAL. Ok I said it lol whew!
    Love ya,
    Your best Neighbor!:)

Leave a Reply

