Coffee Cake and Wildflowers

Cinnamon Coffee Cake…with a side of my sewing machine light in top right corner.

I don’t have much to say today. I wanted to share the mediocre photos I took in the last couple of days, since I don’t currently have a good, functioning camera. These photos today were taken with my phone! Crazy, I know. I wanted to show you some of the beauty that I see in the morning, walking the dogs.

The coffee cake was our breakfast Sunday morning, and here is the lovely recipe:

3 cups all purpose flour
5 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 1/2 cups milk
2 tsp. vanilla extract (I just measure using the cap of my bottle of vanilla)
Cinnamon Mixture (it ends up sinking into the cake, mostly):
2/3 cup all purpose flour
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

Preheat oven to 375°F.

Combine dry ingredients for cake. Beat together egg, oil, milk and vanilla, then add to dry ingredients.

Butter pan or grease a 9×13 pan, then dust the pan with flour and tap out any excess. Fill pan with cake batter. Level out if needed. Sprinkle with Cinnamon topping

Bake for 40-55 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean (except for maybe some of the cinnamon mixture).

This recipe works just as well cut in half, just adjust the cooking time by dividing in half as well.

Now, on to the beauty I see in the morning while walking the dogs. I am loving the greenness, the birds, the wildlife (I’ve seen 2 coyotes on the road, and a turkey in flight), and the wildflowers. The flowers are what I’m going to share with you today.

Now I just have to figure out what kind of flowers these are. Hope you all are having a wonderful Monday. Mine has been relatively peaceful so far.

Tomorrow, I’ll try to post photos of some of my recent rummage sale finds….and a post to go with it.

Leave a Reply

