Summer Has Begun!

It’s official! Summer vacation has begun. My parents were here this last long weekend, and it was a very fun visit. My Mom and I went thrifting with the girls, while Dad and Hubs put his “Dad-made” shed back together, on the HOTTEST day of the year so far! Bless ’em, they handled it well, lots of ice water served by Pally, and a half-gallon of Gatorade. Yesterday, at midday, my parents left, taking the Girlies with them. So my summer vacation has also begun! I love my girls to death, but holy Moses, it is a grand gift to be “childless” for a time. The girls spend a few weeks with my folks every summer, and some time with my in-laws while they are away. This year I will be footloose & fancy free until after the Fourth of July. I know some of you may be thinking I’m a terrible parent, but it is a wonderful time to reflect and realize how much I love and appreciate my girls. It is also a wonderful time for them to get to know my parents, and the rest of my MI family, as well as spend time with the In-laws and cousins.

After the family left yesterday, the Hubs and I went to Menards and I picked up about 50 paint chips to figure out what color our siding is, so that we can paint the shed to match the house. We figured it out, and I am looking forward to painting it. On Wednesday or Thursday, I will be picking up a new length of garden hose, a sprinkler, and start planting my garden, finally. Today, I have to patch the Hub’s jean pockets. That’s it. I am going to work on the curtains for the living room or Pally’s room. I really need to get those knocked out and hung. I promise to post photos of the curtain projects once they are finished. I did finish the kitchen curtains last week, and I will post those in the very next post.

Hope everyone had a wonderful holiday weekend, and a blessed week to come!

Leave a Reply

