True Confession Time

Before I get to the title topic, I just wanted to say, Happy Anniversary to my Mom & Dad. Today they celebrate 38 years of marriage. Love to both of you! Mwah.

Okay, now it’s time for true confessions. I’m a big ol’ control freak. Yes, I all too often just do things myself because I don’t believe any one else can do it as well as I can or do it right, which is usually my way. At least that’s my perception. It has manifested itself in things as dumb or insignificant as how to load the dishwasher, what order the dishes are washed in, how the dishes are stacked in the drain rack, how the other members of my family put away their clothes or how the laundry is folded. Until the last year or so, I have folded and refolded clothes that I had other people folded. It has been a constant fight with myself to STOP DOING THIS! It isn’t easy. So now that I’ve said that, I have to as is there one thing that you and your spouse are supposed to manage/do/accomplish together that you can’t manage to do? We have this one aspect of household management that instead of working out together, I usually handle, then occasionally give up the reins, and then hide my head in the sand like a damn ostrich while I worry that it’s all getting taken care of right. Then when it seems like it’s not being handled the way I would do it, I get angry, and want to yell. We talk about it, sometimes fight about it, promise each other that we’ll tackle it together from here on out, and here we are 14 years later, we still can’t work together on this one thing! We have a great relationship. I love my hubby more today than I did the day we got married. We are actively making sure that one day in the near future when our darling girls grow up and go off to college, husbands, and babies of their own, we still enjoy each others company. We talk about everything….except this one thing. Neither of us are commitment phobes,  which is probably why we started dating and were married in a six month period, or why we had our first baby 2 months after our first anniversary.

So, how the heck to we grow the heck up about this one thing and deal with it?

 

Leave a Reply

