Busy, Busy, Busy!

Wow, what a whirlwind the last few weeks have been. The girlies and I spent 9 days in Michigan, coming home the night before the school started. My Dad came back when we did and spent a few days. While he was here he built a frame for our porch swing, it was our anniversary present. He also brought us a freezer (I’ve been needing/wanting one). The girls and I got the first coat of paint on our shed, and as soon as it’s dried up some from the blessing of rain all day yesterday, we’ll do the second coat. As a family, we are undertaking our autumnal house deep cleaning, and we started yesterday, so my kitchen is a wreck. We were systematically emptying out cabinets, cleaning them, inside and out, then replacing the items in the cabinets. Rick and I also did a little work in the living room. It is amazing the amount of clutter that just magically appears. I’m beginning to think I shouldn’t have ANY flat surfaces in my house, because all they do is gather things that don’t belong there. Books, magazines, mail, school papers, you name it. So busy.

Before we ever started yesterday, we had a family meeting, delineating all the routine household chores, and then I made a chart, what happens on what day (not who does what). The only chores that are assigned are dishes and afternoon dog walking. Those are the girls regular chores, they alternate days (i.e. if it’s your day for dishes, your sister walks Rory) and then have other duties as assigned. I got tired of the sighing/huffing/eye-rolling when they were asked to do something “extra” so we had a very belated conversation about we are ALL responsible for the way our house looks. Granted, most days, I’ll have the bulk of the work done, because I’m the homemaker, and it’s my primary responsibility. This just puts them on notice of what needs to get done, and it doesn’t automatically default as “my job.” The girls are to come home, have a snack, do their homework, then check to see what housework needs to be done, above and beyond their dishes.

I’ve already got my second load of blue/green laundry in this morning, yes it’s Blue/Green Monday, and yes, we make that much laundry when it’s only done every week, week-and-a-half. I’ve also walked Rory, fed & watered Shiloh, and chased Shiloh down the road. He has this  new “trick” where he tries to knock me down and escapes. Usually, if someone else is home, we catch him easy, but I chased him 1/2 a mile today, and was unable to catch him. I’m hoping he decides he’s hungry and comes home on his own. I’m so flustered. You see, technically, he’s not our dog. We foster him for the folks that own our house. His owners have told me before that he’s gotten away a couple of times, and then comes wandering home after a few hours….I really hope this is the case. It is hard to catch a four-legged critter, even one that is a senior citizen. I was jogging and still couldn’t catch up with him. Had he not knocked me off-balance enough I had to right myself, I think I would have had him before he ever got out of the yard.

Back to our vacation in Michigan….we spent the first weekend with just my Mom, as my Dad was out-of-town, and had a grand girls weekend, then it was the 5 of us until Wednesday, when the girls and I were blessed enough to be asked to house sit for my aunt, who lives on a lake. We spent 4 days playing on the beach, soaking up the sun, and splashing in the water.

This was our view from the deck off the living room.

My girlfriend and her kids came to hang out twice, and my sister-in-law, brother-in-law, 2 nieces, nephew, and my mother-in-law came and spent most of a day with us. I even had a “high-school” moment, where I stayed up with my girlfriend until 5 a.m. Who does that at my age? It was great, we talked, and talked, and talked, and laughed, and laughed, and there were even some tears (on my part, ’cause I’m a big ol’ emotional wreck.) It is wonderful to be able to reconnect like that with a friend I’ve had since the 7th grade. Yes, my kids & hubby will tell you she and I talk on the phone numerous times a week, for at least an hour every time, but it’s just not the same as being in the same room together.

This is how my girls spend our lake house vacation.

(Pay no attention to the time stamp, I didn’t even realize it was on, and wrong.)

Also, this last Saturday, my dear hubby picked up his very first brand new car. It’s a nice, shiny new Toyota. Very fancy, and it rides nice.

This week is FULL to the brim, with finishing our early Fall deep cleaning, my doctor’s appointment (routine chronic illness/med refill stuff, no big deal), and preparing for our weekend in Wisconsin. Next week, the Hubby is on vacation! Woo hoo! So even though we’ll be home next week, since the kids have school, it still gives Mom & Dad some alone time…I see a couple of lunch dates in my future, maybe a movie, definitely some thrifting…since Bug needs bigger jeans. She’s finally out grown all of her hand me downs from her 23-year-old cousin…mind you, Bug just turned 13. We grow ’em small in my family. I think I’m one of the tallest grand daughters, and I’m barely 5’6″, if that tells you anything. We also tend to stop growing by our 14th birthdays…

I still have other “fun” projects I am working on, they are just really slow going right now. What with everything else I have to do, you know how it is.

Until next time….

Leave a Reply

