Quickest, Easiest From-Scratch Pizza

How are you all? What are y’all doing today? Me, well I finished my planned laundry (including emptying all 8 buckets of water from the washer), and cleaned the bathroom. (Yuck!) First though, let me share the recipes I promised you yesterday.

No Rise Pizza Crust (from food.com)

1 packet of dry yeast (that is 2 1/4 t. if you buy yeast in a larger container)
1 cup warm water
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 T. Olive oil (I didn’t have a full 2, so I made up the difference with Canola oil
1 t. sugar
1 t. salt

Dissolve the yeast in the warm water in a medium sized bowl. (If you choose to proof your yeast, it won’t affect the recipe.) Add the remaining ingredients and stir vigorously 20 strokes (or until a good, rather dry, stiff dough forms). Let rest for 10 minutes, then press onto a greased 11X 17 baking sheet and add toppings. Bake at 425° for 15-20 minutes, or until crust is golden brown and cheese is melted.

My ridiculously easy Pizza Sauce:

1 28oz can of crushed tomatoes
1 t. salt
1/4 t. black pepper
1 t. dried basil
1 t. dried oregano
1 t. garlic powder
2 T. red wine vinegar

Mix all together in a sauce pan, bring to a simmer.  Cook for 10-15 minutes. This makes enough for 4-6 11X17 pizzas, but it will keep for at least a week in the fridge or you can serve the leftover on pasta.

As for my new bathroom cleaners…for the toilet: put 2 cups white vinegar and a squirt of dish soap in the bowl. Swish it around and up the sides. Let it sit for 30-60 minutes and then scrub. My toilet hasn’t looked this good since I quit using the chemical laden blue stuff.

For the tub/shower: I’ve just been using Bon Ami, but the texture on the tub floor just wasn’t coming clean, so I squirted a squiggly line of dish soap (two figure eights, really) and sprinkled on the Bon Ami, and I had enough “paste” to scrub the tub and the shower walls. We have very hard well water, and a tub faucet with a leak (which we’ve already tried to fix once, and discovered the real problem is a slightly more complex repair) so we have a rust stain. I haven’t succeeded in getting it all cleaned up, but some of it comes up every time I scrub. Here’s hoping that once we get the leak permanently repaired, I can obliterate the rust stain.

That’s all I have for today. I hope today is a great one, and if it isn’t choose to make it a great day. Yes, sometimes it is a choice.

2 responses to “Quickest, Easiest From-Scratch Pizza

  1. I bet that pizza crust recipe is good. it seems to be a small scal version of the dough i made at Gino’s, a pizza place. I’m excited to try it!

    • I double it, and it completely covers 2 11X17 inch pans, and I’d bet if I made the crust a little thinner I could squeeze out one more, smaller pizza from the same amount of dough.

Leave a Reply

