And Then There Were Cookies

Wowsers! I feel like life has been crazy, and yet, not much is going on. I haven’t had much to say, as you can see from my lack of posting. Okay, I’ve probably had tons to say, but no real desire to put my thoughts and feelings out there. First, and quickest, I’m already SICK of the whole politically thing. I’m ready to be past the election, so that we know the outcome and can take steps to deal with whatever the outcome is. (The older I get the more I feel we need a more than just a two-party system.) Second, life is settling in to the status quo of cooler weather. We hunker down around the hearth *snicker* in the evenings. Much to my chagrin, we don’t have an actual hearth, so we spend the evening at the kitchen table, or watching a few shows on the t.v. There is something new for us. The Hubby and I are taking a class together, one night a week, so we have homework to do. (At this point, I’m not going to share much more about that.)

I was on a role last week with projects. I got a pair of the Hubby’s pants hemmed (I had to cut off 3.5 inches), and one of Pally’s curtains finished….then….Pally knocked my iron off the ironing board and it broke, so I was at a stand still until I got it replaced. Thankfully, the Hubs was able to find an “old-reliable” model at the thrift shop in the town where he works. So I guess, I don’t really have a choice. I’ve got to get that curtain done today. That means I probably should get on with it. I’ve got my biggest knitting project about 1/3 complete, but I haven’t knitted a stitch in almost 2 weeks! Yikes! I must be going through a phase. I need to shake it off, and work on at least one project a day. I’ve got stuff I want to get accomplished.

Is anyone seeing a pattern? I’m a procrastinator and chronically unmotivated! I did get some baking done yesterday, I made two loaves of pumpkin bread, and a loaf of super easy & quick Italian bread. I also made a batch of my Great-Grandma Zwiers’ No-Bake Cookies (recipe at the bottom of post.) Of course, I tweak it a tiny bit. Our dinner last night was a pesto lasagna, roasted carrots, potatoes and turnips, and the fresh bread. Tonight, I think we are going to have soup and cornbread, I just have to decide on what kind of soup. I’ve got pintos in the crock pot so I can make re-fried beans. I plan on whipping up some “Mexican-Restaurant-style” rice, and then I’ll put together a big batch of rice & bean burritos for lunches. Yum.

I guess I can’t say I’m unmotivated. With all the cooking that got done yesterday, and the fact that I’m finally back to exercising after making excuses for at least 2 months longer than I should have after falling down the stairs in June. I think I desire to get way more accomplished in a day than I probably ever could, and that is why I feel like I’m not getting things accomplished.

Grandma Z’s No-Bake Cookies

  • 3 c. oatmeal
  • 1 t. baking soda
  • 6 T. cocoa powder
  • 1/2 c. coconut
  • 1/2 c. nuts (I omitted this and replaced it with 1/2 c. smooth peanut butter)
  • 2 c. sugar
  • 1/2 c. butter or margarine
  • 1/2 c. milk

In a larger saucepan, mix together the sugar, butter, and milk. Bring this mixture to a boil, then add the remaining ingredients (careful, when you add the soda it sometimes “grows”). Drop by spoonfuls onto waxed or parchment paper, allow to cool completely, then store in an airtight container.

*I use old-fashioned oats, not quick cooking, and sometimes I end up adding extra, up to a full cup.

Leave a Reply

