Moral Dilemma

Too bad it isn’t Monday, because that would have been a better title, “Moral Dilemma Mondays.” Alas, it is Tuesday. Hopefully, you guys can help me out. I came across a “situation” today that I didn’t know how to handle.

I live on a VERY quite street, that divides a wild fowl refuge and a state forest. Quiet! Well, walking the dog this morning, Rory comes to a complete and utter halt in front of one of the houses, and starts to whine and whimper. About the time I tell him to hush and give a tug on the leash I hear a terrible verbal fight coming from inside. I can hear the woman’s raised voice, but couldn’t make out what she was saying, the man on the other hand, I could hear very clearly. It wasn’t pretty. I didn’t know whether I should call the Sheriff’s office, or pretend it wasn’t happening since it didn’t sound like anyone was in severe distress… I knew I didn’t want to go to the door. I know that much. I know that if they were in the middle of a serious domestic, it could be very dangerous for me to butt in. I didn’t feel that it was necessarily smart or safe for me to stand on the road in front of their house listening. I continued on to the corner, praying for the Lord to guide me, and be with the fighting couple. Of course, for me to be able to call the Sheriff’s office, I would have had to knock on another neighbor’s door, since I have virtually zero cell service out here in our neighborhood. As I walked back by, the house was quiet. Rory didn’t react at all. Now I’m going to worry about them all day.

What would you have done?

One response to “Moral Dilemma

  1. Probably the same thing that you did. 🙂

Leave a Reply

