Recipe Jackpot

So, any of you who follow me on Facebook know that I made  a promise to share a recipe this weekend, if it turned out. Well, I think I hit the jackpot. I took two recipes I found on the internet, and made them my own. I’ll share the links to the original, but I’ll post the recipe as I made it.

First, the Asian Sesame Dressing (found here), however, I quadrupled the recipe while altering it.

  • 1 c. vegetable oil
  • 1/2 c. cider vinegar
  • 1/4 c. soy sauce
  • 8 t. honey
  • 2 t. sesame oil
  • 1 t. dried crushed red pepper

Pour all ingredients into a jar, lid it, and shake well, until nicely combined. (It will separate if it sits, so just shake it up again.) Refrigerate if not using immediately.

Second, the Asian Noodle & Chicken Lettuce Wraps. (Original recipe found here.) As you can see, if you compare the two recipes, I changed the cooking method of the chicken, doubled the recipe, and altered some of the ingredients to what I had in the fridge & pantry.

  • 6 frozen boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 4 packages any flavor ramen noodles, seasoning packets discarded
  • 1/4 – 1/2 t. garlic powder
  •  1 c shredded cabbage
  • 3 carrots, shredded
  • 8 large lettuce leaves of your choice
  •  Asian Sesame dressing, recipe above

First, I plopped those frozen chicken breasts into the crock pot, poured in about a cup of the dressing, clapped the lid on, and cooked the chicken on low, about 6 hours. I let them cool, then diced up the chicken. I cooked the ramen according to the package instructions, then rinsed in cold water and drained it well. I tossed the chicken, the noodles and the garlic powder in a bowl with a bit of the remaining Asian Sesame dressing, I didn’t measure it, I just made sure the noodles were coated nicely. Then take your lettuce leaf, put about 1/2 c. of the chicken & noodle mixture in it, or however much fits in your leaves, top with shredded carrot and cabbage. Roll it all up, and WHAMO, you’ve got yourself a simple lettuce wrap. My girls were really excited to be taking these in their lunches.

So, that’s it. Easy and cheap. My two favorite things.

Leave a Reply

