And Now For Something Completely Different

Okay, only kind of completely different. My Mom posted today on Facebook that she was challenging herself to read 200 books this year, and on New Year’s Day I saw a girlfriend suggest doing a “90’s Music Fitness Plan” and she means that in a “I’m Gonna Be” kind of way. You know the song I mean –

When I wake up… 
Yea I know I’m going to be I’m going to be that man who wakes up next to you 
When I go out… 
Yea I know I’m going to be I’m going to be that man who goes along with you 
If I get drunk… 
Yea I know I’m going to be I’m going to be that man who gets drunk next you 
And if I heaver 
Yea I know I’m going to be I’m going to be that man who’s heavering to you 

But I would walk 500 miles 
And I would walk 500 more 
Just to be that man who walk a thousand miles to fall down at your door 

It got me thinking. I need to challenge myself, to prove myself to Me, and to actually set goals, because without them I just kind of flail along without a stated purpose.
So, here are my challenges/goals for 2014:
Read 100 books. (I love to read, but the last few years I’ve been reading in fits and starts, instead of reading enough for real enjoyment. I think this last year I may have read 25-30 books.) I have already finished book number one.
Walk a thousand miles. On one hand that sounds like a lot, and on another it sounds like nothing. I’ve done the math. I know how many miles a day I need to walk. And no, I’m not counting my normal “steps” in a day. Only my mileage walked with purpose is going to count.
Finish one knit project a month. Even if it’s just a dishcloth. One project a month. I would like to knit my first pair of socks before this summer starts.
Finish one sewing project a month. Again, even if it’s just putting a button back on something, or repairing an item, it counts. I’ve already done this one for January. The Hubby’s Carhartt coat lost a sleeve cuff snap, and I don’t have the equipment to replace one of those big snaps. So, at Hubby’s request, I just tacked the cuff together. Done. In addition to the already completed project, I have 5 small projects to do, it’s just a matter of getting my butt in gear and getting them done. I imagine I can have them finished in a day or two, if I can get the gumption.
That’s it. I don’t want to call them “Resolutions” because that word has such negative connotations. It sounds like it belongs in a competition. Instead, this is me challenging myself. I’m my only competition here. I’ll keep y’all posted.
2 responses to “And Now For Something Completely Different

  1. Marjorie Clayton

    You can do it! I should do the walking thing too.

Leave a Reply

