Cabin Fever Busters

So, quick question. What are your favorite go-to cabin fever busters? I’m going batty here! I did find out that our community center’s gym (yes, in my itty-bitty town of 1600 people) opens at 5 a.m. for walkers during the winter. I have got to get out of this house!!! I love it, and I have a thousand things to do, but I’m going bat-crap-crazy being cooped up. I’ve finished two books in the last 7 days, finished a t.v. series (Bomb Girls, so sad they left us hanging), spent about a billion hours on the internet, and have napped more than I should. I was a good little Susie Homemaker today, and got my knitting out. Finally. I’ve been ignoring all my crafty projects lately. I don’t know why. Maybe because I don’t feel like I’m finishing things fast enough, so I just set them aside for a while. Who knows.

We have had another couple of frigid days with ridiculous wind chills, and another one on the way tomorrow, with dangerous temperatures forecast without the windchill. I wonder if my kids will have school tomorrow, with the temps being so dangerous? If they don’t, we’ll have to figure out something to keep ourselves entertained.

While we are talking about winter, I have another question for you all….What do you do to help keep your winter heating costs low? We heat with propane, at $1.80 a gallon, in our larger and older house we are trying some rather “extreme” measures. I know that over the summer, I’m going to be making thermal window covers. The house is oriented directly north and south so the very cold prairie winter winds (that blow predominately from the north) make for a pretty chilly front side of the house (or a very large propane bill). One of the more “drastic” things we are trying is the overnight temperatures…we set the programmable thermostat for 55 overnight. (I know that to many that may sound extreme, but it’s not bad. Also it occurs to me that if I went back to work during the day, we could turn the furnace down in the daytime too and save a bundle, but I’m sure that it is not worth it.) We also set the night-time temp to start at 9 p.m. on weeknights, and to start coming up 15 minutes before we wake up in the morning. So far the kids aren’t complaining, but more importantly the Hubby (who is always cold) isn’t complaining. We do have an electric “fireplace” to help the front of the house on blustery days. It’s rated to heat a 400 sq. foot space, so it helps quite a bit. So, what do you do? Or do you just take a second job or a second mortgage to heat your house in winter? (Ha!)

Leave a Reply

